top of page
  • gabriel0334

Illustrator final project


The intended audience of my illustrator project is avid gym goers who are looking for a new gym routine. It is proven that switching up one's workout often can provide shock to the muscles which causes more growth to occur. Therefore someone that already has a solid workout routine can try this one out for a week and still get good results. This routine is perfect for beginners all the way up to advanced gym goers. This is possible because they have the ability to adjust the amount of weight that they use for each exercise. Not including the exact weight for the exercises allows this routine to reach more people. I am trying to communicate that one can get results from the gym from only going three times a week. A lot of people think that the more often they go to the gym the better results they will get, however not allowing the muscles to rest can cause injury which will lead to decrease in muscular gains. I was also trying to draw traffic to the made up website I created called thebodybuilderspt.com. By giving a free workout that one can use will likely draw traffic to the website and the personal training services that we provide. So in a way the workout routine is an advertisement for additional services that we would provide.

The image is able to convey my message by clearly laying out a workout routine that I created from my own experience that works the best. Doing the exercises on these specific days motivates people to go to the gym because it doesn’t require them to overthink what they have to do, they simply have it all written out in front of them. Trying to memorize a workout routine in your head is very tough and takes years and years of experience to master. This way having it written out allows them to complete the full workout and not miss any important muscle groups. The images that I created on illustrator help aid the more visual learner of what I am trying to communicate. By showing some of the exercises through images helps to convey the message of the workout routine.

I mainly used Canva to create the base of my illustrator project, but I also used adobe illustrator to edit some of the images and text. In order for the images to blend in with the infographic I uploaded them to illustrator and rasterized them. I then selected the window toolbar and pressed image trace. From here I either used the auto color tool or customized the colors using the color wheel or selecting from various categories. I also created the Bodybuilding logo on illustrator adjusting the fonts. I did this by typing the text into illustrator and selecting object envelope distort and make with warp. Next I selected the arch and used the perspective distort button. Next I made a copy of the text and made the copy white and arranged the black text to be behind the white text. I then made it offset by selecting object, path, and then offset. With Canva I used an infographic template and used some of their graphic art. I adjusted the colors of the template as well as font sizes and colors.

I learned a lot from this project and will definitely be using Canva in the future for many different uses. Editing images on illustrator is pretty simple and has almost limitless possibilities. Using a combination of text and images is much easier to get a point across to somebody. Through this project I learned the power that giving good information can be a sales strategy. Lastly, making something visually appealing is very important in order for someone to want to hear your message.

Overall I think I could have focused more on the recovery aspect of working out. Including three days of workouts doesn’t directly imply that they should be resting on the other days. I have always wanted to become a personal trainer so doing this project allowed me to envision the opportunities and business strategy that I could do to be successful in this field. I definitely love the topic that I started in and feel very knowledgeable however it does take lots of practice to communicate it effectively.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page